We are Nihilists!

„Because this is a movie about how nothing means anything anymore. LA still exists, but the LA of Raymond Chandler does not. Why does it not exist? Because the noirs of the 40s took place against the backdrop of World War II. The horror and agony and anxiety of that war, which could not be expressed in the actual war films of the day, were instead expressed in the noirs of the day, the darkness and duplicity and violence of detective stories. The Big Lebowski, by contrast, pointedly takes place against the background of the Gulf War, a war which meant nothing and acheived nothing (and, history has shown, did not have a happy ending).“

Todd Alcott interpretiert meinen Lieblingsfilm „The Big Lebowski“ auf eine sehr interessante Art und Weise.
via

UPDATE: Es gibt sogar noch mehr!

UPDATE 2: Manche Dinge sind einfach unglaublich. Ich habe gerade diese beiden Filmanalysen von Todd Alcott gelesen und in einem der Kommentare wird das Buch „I’m a Lebowski, You’re a Lebowski“ erwähnt. Ich dachte noch, wow, das hätte ich wirklich gerne und das ich es dringend auf meinen Amazon-Wunschzettel packen muss. Dann stehe ich auf, mache mir einen Kaffee und gehe die Post holen. Dabei war ein kleines Päckchen von meinem Kumpel Christian, der für einige Monate in San Diego lebt. Ich mache es auf, und es ist GENAU DIESES BUCH drin…
Whoo-hooo! Thanks, mate, thanks, lord.



Kommentar verfassen

